14 Jul 2012

India would overcome the slowdown and march ahead in terms of economic growth and human development, says Harish Rawat Union Minister of State for Agriculture, Food Processing Industries and Parliamentary Affairs

"Nehru Running Shield" and Trophy for standing First at National Level of the 15th National Youth Parliament Competition, 2011-2012 for Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalayas was awarded to Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya, Vaishali, Bihar in New Delhi today. Shri Harish Rawat, Minister of State for Agriculture, Food Processing Industries and Parliamentary Affairs distributed the prizes to the prize-winning students/Vidyalayas for their meritorious performance in the Competition. The Prize Distribution function for Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalayas was held in G M C Balayogi Auditorium, Parliament Library Building. Speaking on the occasion Shri Harish Rawat said, India has emerged as a vibrant nation because our founding fathers gave us a robust and vibrant Constitution with enabling provisions for liberty, equality and fraternity. The success of multi-party democracy has earned distinction from across the world. Emerging democracies in our neighbourhood like Nepal and Myanmar have been keenly following our model, he said. 

He asked the youth to strive hard to uphold the dignity, unity and integrity of the nation and maintain the sanctity of democratic institutions. He said, the need of the hour is new ideas, innovations and a fresh outlook. He expressed hope that India would overcome the slowdown and march ahead in terms of economic growth and human development to silence the critics who write off India as underachievers. The youth of today are the leaders of tomorrow and on them lies the responsibility of upholding the best traditions of democracy. Around 60 per cent of our population belongs to the age group of 15 to 64. Our younger population is expected to reach around 325 million by 2020, the largest young population in the world. We have before us a challenge to convert the large human capital into precious assets, Shri Harish Rawat asserted. 

Merit trophies were also awarded to 7 Vidyalayas for standing first in their respective Regions. Winners of the Trophy for standing First in respective regions are: 

1. Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya, Raichur in Hyderabad Region 
2. Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya, Phalahi, Hoshiarpur, Punjab in Chandigarh Region
3. Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya, Ravangla, South Sikkim in Shillong Region
4. Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya, Gajner, Bikaner in Jaipur Region
5. Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya, Allahabad, in Lucknow Region
6. Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya, Bhadrak in Bhopal Region
7. Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya, Bharuch, Gujarat in Pune Region

The Secretary, Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs, Shri Desh Deepak Verma, and Commissioner, Navodaya Vidyalaya Samiti, Shri G.S. Gothiyal, were among those present on this occasion, where the students of Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya, Vaishali, Bihar which stood first in the Competition, presented a short sitting of “Youth Parliament”. 

Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs have been organising Youth Parliament Competitions in the country which aims at inculcating among the younger generations the spirit of self-discipline, tolerance of diverse opinion, righteous expression of views and other virtues of a democratic way of life. Besides, the scheme also acquaints the students with the practices and procedures of Parliament, techniques of discussion and debate and develops in them self confidence, quality of leadership and the art and skill of effective oratory. Indeed such programmes provide the necessary impetus to our younger generations in inculcating among them democratic spirit and scientific temper. 

You May Also Like


Popular Posts