24 Jan 2014

Grant of Presidential Awards to the Officers of the Customs & Central Excise and Directorate of Enforcement on the EVE of Republic Day, 2014

This year, 40 officers of the Customs & Central Excise Department have been selected for grant of Presidential Award of Appreciation Certificate for ‘Specially distinguished record of service’.  

Every year, the officers of the Customs & Central Excise Department are considered for grant of Presidential Award of Appreciation Certificate for ‘exceptionally meritorious service rendered at the risk of life’ and for Presidential Award of Appreciation Certificate for ‘specially distinguished record of service’ on their achieving and maintaining excellence in the discharge of their duties. These awards are announced on the eve of Republic Day.
 These officers have been selected on the basis of their exemplary and flawless performance in their respective field of services over the years. The awardees selected this year include the officers working as Commissioners/Additional Director Generals/Joint Secretary, Additional Commissioners/Additional Directors, Superintendents/SIOs, Assistant Chief Accounts Officer/Administrative Officer, Inspectors/IOs, Senior Tax Assistant, Driver/Hawaldar who have been consistently committed to the department in various fields.

The aforesaid officer’s performance in various fields includes the prevention of smuggling of contrabands and Narcotics Drugs, detection of tax evasion and trade based money laundering, detection of foreign exchange violations by booking / arresting the  offenders and seizing the smuggled goods upgradation of anti-smuggling equipments and streamlining enforcement procedures etc in the department. Besides,  many awardees  have shown their brilliance and given commendable performance in other fields as varied as revenue mobilization, development of software for automation at Customs, Central Excise and Service tax formations, reducing litigations, international Conventions and Protocol relating to Trade Facilitation and enforcement, dispute resolution, effective defence of cases in the Tribunals and High Courts, preparing informative web sites for revenue officers as well as deft handling of administrative work .

            The list of officers, along with their designation and their present place of posting, who have been selected for grant of the Presidential Award of Appreciation Certificate for ‘Specially distinguished record of service’, on the occasion of Republic Day, 2014 is given below:


1.         Shri Pranab Kumar Das, Commissioner (RI&I),  Anti-Smuggling Unit, Central Board of Excise and Customs, New Delhi
2.         Shri R.D. Negi, Commissioner, Central Excise, Jaipur-IICommissionerateJaipur
3.         Shri Rajiv Talwar, Joint Secretary, Drawback Wing, Central Board of Excise and Customs, New Delhi
4.         Shri Satish Kumar Agrawal, Commissioner, Central Excise, Delhi-IICommissionerate, New Delhi
5.         Shri Surjit BhujabalAdditional Director General, DGCEI, Zonal Unit,Bengaluru
6.         Smt. R. Bhagya Devi,  Commissioner, Central Excise, Chennai-IIICommissionerate, Chennai


7.            Shri Sanjay MangalAdditional Commissioner, Central Excise,Rohtak CommissionerateRohtak
8.            Shri Vijay Singh ChauhanDirector, FMO, Ministry of Finance, New Delhi
9.            Shri ShubhchintanAdditional Commissioner, Delhi Customs Zone, Chief Commissioner Unit, New Delhi
10.        Shri Yashwant Lal MahawarAdditional Director, DGCEI Hqrs., New Delhi
11.        Shri J.M. Kennedy, Director (Tax Research Unit), Central Board of Excise and Customs, New Delhi
12.        Shri K. Balaji MajumdarAdditional Director, DRI, Zonal Unit, Chennai
13.        Shri Ganga Singh KarkiAdditional Director, DRI Hqrs., New Delhi


14.        Shri Debaprasad GhantiSenior Intelligence Officer, DGCEI, Kolkata Zonal Unit, Kolkata
15.        Shri Virender Kumar SethiSuperintendent, O/o Chief Commissioner of Customs, Delhi Zone, New Delhi
16.        Shri S. Shyam Sundar RaoSuperintendent, Large Tax Payer Unit,Bengaluru
17.        Shri J. Hariharan, Superintendent, Directorate General of Vigilance, South Zonal Unit, Chennai
18.        Smt. S.A. SaradhaSuperintendent., Directorate General of Systems & Data Management, Chennai
19.        Shri Vibhav Shankar PandeySenior Intelligence Officer, DRI Hqrs., New Delhi
20.        Shri Dhoom Singh ChauhanSenior Intelligence Officer, DGCEIHqrs., New Delhi
21.        Shri Sanjay Kumar BansalSenior Intelligence Officer, DGCEI Hqrs., New Delhi
22.        Shri Saikrishna B HatangadiSenior Intelligence Officer, DRI, Zonal Unit, Mumbai
23.        Shri Asharam MeenaSenior Intelligence Officer, DGCEI, Regional Unit, Vapi
24.        Shri Tassine Sultan, Superintendent (on deputation as Assistant Director), Financial Intelligence Unit-India, New Delhi
25.        Smt. K. GeethaSuperintendent  (on deputation as Additional Assistant Director), DGHRD, New Delhi
26.        Shri Ramesh Chander BhardwajSuperintendent, ICD, Tughlakabad, New Delhi
27.        Shri Chittari Vijay Kumar S. VarmaSuperintendent., Central Excise, CCO, Pune Zone, Pune
28.        Shri Neeraj AgrawalSenior Intelligence Officer, DGCEI Hqrs., New Delhi
29.        Smt. Sabrina Cano, Superintendent, Office of the Commissioner(AR), CESTAT, Bengaluru
30.        Shri Chandra Narayan MishraSuperintendent, NACEN, Regional Training Institute, Kanpur
31.        Shri Raju P. Amlani, Enforcement Officer (on deputation as Junior Analyst), Department of Revenue, New Delhi


32.        Shri Ramesh Gangadhar Noolvi, Assistant Chief Accounts Officer/Administrative Officer Central Excise Commissionerate, Mangalore


33.        Shri Sreekant PurohitIntelligence Officer, DGCEI, Regional Unit, Raipur
34.        Shri Jayant Prabhakar Nair, Intelligence OfficerDRI, Zonal Unit, Mumbai
35.        Shri Umeshchand Rameshchand Gupta, Intelligence Officer, DGCEI, Hqrs., New Delhi
36.        Shri Vijay V. Chary, Intelligence Officer, DRI, Zonal Unit, Mumbai
37.        Shri Shivendra SatyarthiIntelligence Officer, DRI, Sub-Regional Unit, MuzaffarpurLucknow Zonal Unit
38.        Shri Kanchan Sil, Senior Tax Assistant, Commissioner of Customs (Port), Kolkata

39.        Shri Shiv Kumar Sharma, Driver, Grade I, DRI Hqrs., New Delhi
40.        Shri Anil Kumar, Hawaldar, DRI Hqrs., New Delhi

You May Also Like


Popular Posts